Latest Darts News

From Stuart Lomas

As the record !Sefton Super League! field of 28 darting matadors take a well-earned festive break, it is once again champion Stuart "KIller Ken" Lomas who tops the table. However, four men remain unbeaten and all the main contenders have games in hand on the three-time champion; last year's third placed finisher Stewart Lunt lies second three points back and has thrown the most consistent darts this term. A point further back in third is Will "Dulcie" Howes who has thrown the first 180 in !SSL! history as well as the joint quickest leg of the season; level on points is Terry "Mad Eyes" Macklin - proving that last year's final appearance was no fluke. It would appear the Top of the Table Trophy will be contested between these four.

Last season's Sefton Plate champion, Chris "The Sun" Smart has moved into fifth after a slow start and could well be the one to challenge the top four; the man who topped the Plate Division in 2010-11, Dave "Hort Stuff" Hort, holds a top half spot at the halfway point. "Grumblin'" John Garnett, despite being well below last season's form, and "Gentleman" Jim Tyson complete the end of season quarter-final berths. The only newcomer in the top flight this term, Paul "The Colonel" Foulder, has begun to feel the heat after an excellent start and Paul "The Enigma" Abbott, runner up to Smart in April's Plate final, is also finding his debut top flight season tough going. Dave "The Bar Steward" Cunningham fills the first relegation position but, most surprisingly, it is 2010 !SSL! finalist Jamie "Arrows" Bowman who props up the table; the only man without a win is already mathematically out of the race for the Top of the Table Trophy.

The 16 strong Sefton Plate Division has generally been played at an excellent standard this year and appears to be a five horse race. !SSL! veteran and former cricket chairman Chris Wylie heads the pack but only on leg difference from the last man to join the league, Adrian O'Hara, who has started to show some real form on the oche - including the joint best leg of the season. Richard "The Judge" Forsyth remains unbeaten a point back with a game in hand despite not quite living up to his own fantastic hype since signing up; fellow newcomer Rob "Boggy" Marsh has moved up to fourth in his debut year with 2010 Plate runner-up Kevin "Fan of Sex" Taylor only behind him on leg difference - and with the highest outshot thus far to boot.

A congested midtable starts just a point further back as Danny "The Maverick" Wright, having his finest season to date, leads a group including Scot Jon Northcroft, Phil McEvoy, Adam Flynn, Liam "Tealady" Tollady, 2009 Plate finalist Mark "Der Kaiser" Boyns and Ray Miller who are all within a point of each other. Matt "Mann's Mann" Mann could yet spring a surprise on those above him as he has shown signs of improvement n recent weeks whilst Dan Kelly seems to be heading in the wrong direction and has only Andy "The Talisman" Crossley and Stephen "Yorkshire Justice" Royston, a man with a long relationship with the lower reaches of the table, beneath him. With only eight men making the post-season knockout games, there are sure to be some exciting tussles in the coming weeks.

The oche action returns to Sefton on Thursday 5 January for the remaining ten weeks of the regular season; come down to the club on Thursdays from 7pm onwards to check out the club's own tungsten titans, and keep up with all the results and news in quite marvellous The Arrow periodical.

from Mark Boyns

With the regular league season finished we now enter the knockout stages in both the Super Sefton League and Sefton Plate. The opening round of quarter finals to be held this week (15th March) are Richard Forsyth v Liam Tollady, Adrian O'Hara v Rob Marsh and Chris Wylie v Matt Mann in the plate and Will Howes v Jim Tyson in the top flight. Matches start at 7.45pm

The following week sees Jon Northcroft v Kevin Taylor alongside three crackers in the Super League; defending champion Stuart Lomas v Chris Smart, Stewart Lunt v John Garnett and Terry Macklin v Dave Hort. Once more the action starts at 7.45pm with 29th March hosting the semi finals."